Manhattan Experimental Theater Workshop


Workshop: May 9-Jun 11  
Performances: Jun 12 & 13, 7:30pm

For students grades 9-12. 

This 5-week workshop is part classroom, part production-company in which participants study various styles of avant-garde theatre, then write and perform original pieces in those styles. For more information visit www.mxtw.org. Strong language, not recommended for children under 13.

Instructor: Gwethalyn Williams    Producer: Lauren Fischer

Registration opens January 1, 2019. 

For more information about the workshop go to mxtw.org

Participation fee: $55 (scholarships are available)

May contain some strong language. May not be suitable for children under 13.
MXTW-024

Thank you to our sponsors!

​MACademy Season Sponsor:
SPS Companies, Inc.




Whole Group Workshop Schedule  

Session 1: Saturday, May 9, 3:00–6:00pm
Session 2: Tuesday, May 12, 3:45–6:45pm
Session 3: Thursday, May 14, 3:45–6:45pm
Session 4: Saturday, May 16, 3:00–6:00pm
Session 5: Sunday, May 17, 3:00–6:00pm
Session 6: Tuesday, May 19, 3:45–6:45pm
Session 7: Thursday, May 21, 3:45–6:45pm (technique choice day)
Session 8: Saturday, May 23, 2:00–5:00pm (target story decision day)
Session 9: Sun, May 24, 6:00-9:00pm

Sunday, May 24: Small group meetings begin

Beginning on May 24 small group sessions will begin. Each group will meet three to four times a week for about three hours in addition to the whole company sessions. These small group meetings will be scheduled around your other commitments after the small groups are formed.

Session 10: Wednesday, May 27, 6:00–9:00pm
Session 11: Sunday, May 31, 6:00–9:00pm
Session 12: Wednesday, June 3, 6:00–9:00pm
Session 13: Sunday, June 7, 6:00–9:00pm
Session 14: Wednesday, June 10, 6:00-–10:00pm

Performances

Friday, June 12, 5:15pm call, 7:30pm Curtain
Saturday, June 13, 6:00pm call, 7:30pm Curtain, cast party until 11:45pm
Strike: Sun, June 24, 1:00-6:00pm